The Running Kind

I promised a few people back in Germany that I would let them know about my running efforts here in the States, so I will include a few words on running from time to time. Now that may not be very interesting to most of you, so in case you couldn’t care less whether, where or how long I run, just skip every post that has the word “run” in it.

Austin is a terrific place for running. Just like Hamburg, it has a big lake right in the middle of town whose banks provide a perfect running territory. Actually the trail around Austin’s Town Lake (or Lady Bird Lake, as it is officially called) is even prettier, greener and more interesting than the Alster round in Hamburg. And there are a lot of other green areas, connected to the Town Lake Trail, that are also great for running. So that’s where I spent quite a lot of time during the last few weeks, keeping up a schedule of running every other day.

Some years ago I took some pictures on one of my runs around Town Lake that may give you an idea of how pretty it is. Those photos were taken in December, so  you can imagine how much nicer it is at this time of year.

***

Here’s Merle Haggard singing about “The Running Kind”. Not really a song about athletics, but a good one.

Leave a comment